Welcome to The International Association for the Study of Popular Music UK and Ireland Branch

International Conference on Musical Form

Posted: October 29th, 2019 | Filed under: Calls for Papers | No Comments »

30 June – 1 July 2020, Copthorne Hotel, Newcastle

Organised by the Society for Music Analysis Formal Theory Study Group (FTSG), in association with the Department of Music, Durham University

Supported by North-Eastern Music Analysis Collective

Keynote Speakers: Prof Janet Schmalfeldt (Tufts University), Dr Steven Vande Moortele (University of Toronto)

The Society for Music Analysis Formal Theory Study Group invites proposals for the International Conference on Musical Form. For at least the last 25 years, music theory has witnessed remarkable developments in this area. This renewed interest, referred to as the ‘new Formenlehre’, has stemmed especially from the development of analytical theories for late eighteenth-century music advanced by William Caplin (1998) and James Hepokoski and Warren Darcy (2006). The International Conference on Musical Form seeks to reflect on the achievements of and the ongoing debates surrounding the new Formenlehre, whilst also considering its future. We welcome not only papers dealing with theoretical and analytical issues, but also contributions from related disciplines including historical musicology, history of music theory, corpus studies, music cognition, ethnomusicology, performance studies, philosophy of music, and sociology of music.

Suggested themes include but are not limited to:

  • The new Formenlehre
  • Classical form
  • Romantic form
  • Post-Romantic form
  • Form in post-tonal music
  • Form in early music
  • Form in popular music
  • Form in non-Western music
  • Syntax and closure
  • Syntax and schema
  • Historical approaches to form
  • History of Formenlehre
  • Formenlehreand music theory pedagogy
  • Form and hermeneutics
  • Form and performance
  • Form and music cognition
  • Empirical approaches to form

Accepted formats for presentations include but are not limited to:

  • Individual papers (20 minutes with 10 minutes for discussion)
  • Themed sessions of 3 papers (20 minutes each, with 10 minutes per paper for discussion)
  • Themed sessions of 6 papers (10 minutes each, with a 30-minute discussion afterwards)

Please send your proposals to [email protected] by 1 December 2019.

Each proposal should include:

  • The author’s name and affiliation
  • Email address
  • An abstract of no more than 250-word (for sessions, an additional max. 250-word abstract per each paper/person
  • A short biography (no more than 150 words)
  • Any technical requirements

Proposals should be sent as a single MS Word document. Successful applicants will be notified by late January 2020.

A number of SMA bursaries are available to help cover the costs of travel and accommodation. Further details can be found at http://www.sma.ac.uk/grants/travel/.

Programme Committee:

Prof Julian Horton (Durham University), Chair
Dr Anne Hyland (University of Manchester)
Dr Markus Neuwirth (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne)
Dr Benedict Taylor (University of Edinburgh)

Organising Committee:

Laura Erel (Durham University)
Sunbin Kim (Durham University)
Giselle Lee (Durham University)
Kelvin Lee (Durham University)
Hazel Rowland (Durham University)
Yvonne Teo (Durham University)

Representatives from North-Eastern Music Analysis Collective:

Prof Julian Horton (Durham University)
Dr Christopher Tarrant (Newcastle University)

Conference Website: https://formaltheorystudygroup.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply