Welcome to The International Association for the Study of Popular Music UK and Ireland Branch

Eighth International Conference on Music and Minimalism

Posted: November 3rd, 2021 | Filed under: Calls for Papers | No Comments »

May 5–8, 2022

Deadline for Proposals: January 10, 2022 (11:59PM PST)

All scholars and practitioners of minimalist music (broadly conceived) are invited to submit proposals for the Eighth International Conference on Music and Minimalism hosted by the MidAmerican Center for Contemporary Music at Bowling Green State University’s College of Musical Arts in Bowling Green, OH, USA.

2022 brings several significant anniversaries in the field of minimalist music, and the program committee is particularly keen to solicit proposals for presentations about the music of Éliane Radigue (who turns 90), Meredith Monk (who turns 80), and Rhys Chatham (who turns 70), as well as Philip Glass’s Koyaanisqatsi (which turns 40).

Topics to consider:
Minimalism and racial justice/equity; minimalism and the pandemic; minimalism and the stage: theater, opera, dance, intermedia, multimedia, etc.; minimalism as a cultural practice; minimalism and altered states, drugs, and experiments with consciousness; minimalism and spirituality; minimalism and performance practice; minimalism and ecology, posthumanism, and the Anthropocene; minimalism and technology; minimalism and the body; minimalism in popular music (ambient music, drones, new age music, etc.); minimalist historiography; etc.

Composers to consider:
Maryanne Amacher, Laurie Anderson, Louis Andriessen, John Adams, Harold Budd, David Borden, Glenn Branca, Gavin Bryars, Tony Conrad, Rhys Chatham, Rick Cox, William Duckworth, Julius Eastman, Brian Eno, Paul Epstein, Jim Fox, Ellen Fullman, Kyle Gann, Peter Garland, Karel Goeyvaerts, Michael Gordon, Jon Gibson, Philip Glass, Louis Hardin (Moondog), Sarah Hennies, Christopher Hobbs, Eva-Maria Houben, Terry Jennings, Tom Johnson, Catherine Lamb, David Lang, Mary Jane Leach, Daniel Lentz, Annea Lockwood, Alvin Lucier, John Luther Adams, Jo Kondo, Ingram Marshall, Steve Martland, Meredith Monk, Nico Muhly, Max Neuhaus, Phill Niblock, Michael Nyman, Pauline Oliveros, Hans Otte, Charlemagne Palestine, Michael Pisaro, Larry Polansky, Éliane Radigue, Steve Reich, Max Richter, Terry Riley, David Rosenboom, Howard Skempton, Ann Southam, Midori Takada, James Tenney, Anna Thorvaldsdottir, Lois V Vierk, Kevin Volans, Julia Wolfe, La Monte Young, and many others.

Methods and approaches to consider:
Historical, cultural, analytical, philosophical, phenomenological, ecomusicological approaches; sound studies, disability studies, reception studies, queer studies, institutional and actor-network theory studies, etc.

(1) individual papers (20 minutes)
(2) themed sessions (3–4 papers, each 20 minutes)
(3) lecture recitals (30–60 minutes)

Please send abstracts (300 words) as PDF attachments to [email protected] by January 10, 2022. In your submission, please include your name, any institutional affiliation, and any audiovisual requirements. For themed sessions, please submit all abstracts together with an additional abstract describing your session theme (100 words). For lecture recitals, please include links to any supplementary audio or video materials. The conference organizers and program committee will consider alternative formats as well; please contact them in advance to discuss.

Please email any questions to [email protected].

Conference Organizers (BGSU):
Ryan Ebright, Kurt Doles, Daniel Piccolo

Program Committee:
Ryan Ebright, Bowling Green State University
Sumanth Gopinath, University of Minnesota
Jelena Novak, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa
Kerry O’Brien, Cornish College of the Arts
Pwyll ap Siôn, Bangor University

Leave a Reply